ITRA National and IDRA 70th Anniversary Team Racing Championships 2018

The Irish Team Racing Association National Team Racing Championships will be sailed out of the Royal St George Yacht Club on the 17th and 18th of November 2018.

West Kirby Win Inaugural Elmo Team Racing Trophy at Royal St. George Yacht Club

West Kirby Sailing Club narrowly beat the RSGYC Green of the home club 2-1 in the final to win the first Elmo team racing Trophy. 8 teams of under 18 sailors took part, quickly getting to grips with the equally matched fleet of firefly dinghies. Blue skies and fresh breezes on Saturday saw Storm sails… View Article

The Elmo Trophy

On May 11, 2014 The Irish Team racing community lost a dear friend Graham Elmes. ‘Elmo’ was not only a keen team racer but made a huge contribution to the development of our sport.
In honour of his memory and spirit the Royal St George Yacht Club​ is running “The Elmo Trophy”:

The ITRA Team Racing Championships 2013 Report

The results of the 2013 Irish Team Racing Association Irish Team Racing Nationals could inspire a strange feeling of déjà vu. Yet again the final was sailed between visitors Wessex Exempt and local team the George Knights. Once again, Wessex Exempt, this year’s Wilson Trophy winners, emerged as overall winners, with the George Knights as Irish Champions.

Irish Team Racing National Championships 2013

2013 is set to be a vintage year for the Irish Team Racing Association Irish Team Racing National Championships.

20 teams have entered, with others on the waiting list. Four teams are travelling from the UK, including last year’s overall winners Wessex Exempt, and West Kirby.

Howth YC Wilson Trophy Report

Howth Yacht Club were among a strong Irish representation at this year’s Wilson Trophy. Lynn Reilly, Simon Rattigan, Geoff Tait, Freya Macken, Daragh O’Connor and Emma Geary represented HYC in what is widely held as the best, and toughest team racing event in the world.

Wessex Exempt Winners of 64th Wilson Trophy

The 2013 British Open Team Racing Championship for the Wilson Trophy was won by Wessex Exempt on Sunday in a thrilling best of five final sailed on West Kirby’s marine lake. The six sailors overcame stiff competition from 34 teams from as far afield as America, Ireland and across the UK, eventually meeting Grafham Gorillas in the tense final round of the three-day event.

Ireland in the Hunt as Countdown to Wilson Trophy Begins

Less than 24 hours remain until the start of this year’s British Open Team Racing Championship for the Wilson Trophy (3-5 May). At 12 noon on Friday, all eyes will turn to West Kirby’s Marine Lake to see if home team and current Team Racing World Champions, West Kirby Hawks, can defend their 2012 Wilson win against 200 other top sailors, amongst them, 2012 Olympic 470 silver medallists, Luke Patience and Stuart Bithell.

Olympic medallists to make guest appearance at top team racing event

Two Olympic silver medallists are set to take on West Kirby Sailing Club’s home team plus other top teams from across the UK, USA and Ireland, as the world’s largest team racing event, the British Open Team Racing Championship for the Wilson Trophy, is hosted by West Kirby Sailing Club over Bank Holiday weekend (3-5 May).